Signature Shamrock Shake

Shamrock Shake Smoothie

My Signature Miami-Inspired Shamrock Shake (GUEST POST)

St. Patrick’s Day has long been a favorite holiday of mine, but I have had difficulty finding recipes that are both festive and delicious. Broccoli and spinach are green, but my kids weren’t always happy with them. It wasn’t until my amazing vacation in Miami and at the Fontainebleau, amongst some of the top hotels in Miami, that I found the answer.

The Shamrock Shake was decadent and healthy and, of course, green! In spite of the wonderful time I was having, I couldn’t wait to get back to my own kitchen in Chicago so I could figure out the recipe and share it with my kids and friends. The recipe has become a favorite for all year round, because it is not only healthy, it sends me right back to Miami, which is always something I want.

Without further ado, let me present my signature recipe:

The St. Patrick’s Day Shamrock Shake – The Healthy, Paleo Adaptation

To make them yourself, you will need:

– 1 and 3/4 cups of coconut milk. (This is about one can if you are using purchased cocoanut milk. Substitute any other type of milk if you prefer. The taste will be different but still delicious.)
– 1 avocado, halved. Remove the seed and scoop out of the peel.
– 2 and 1/2 or so tablespoons of pure raw honey, to taste. (You can use another sweetener if you wish, but honey is the healthiest option that is readily available.)
– 1 cup of crushed ice.
– 1 tablespoon of pure vanilla extract.
– 1 teaspoon of pure peppermint extract.

– optional* 1 serving of fresh or frozen kale and/or spinach

Toss all of the ingredients in the blender and mix them up until perfectly smooth. The avocado will give a green tint to your smoothie, but it won’t be true St. Paddy green. For a more festive look and added health benefits, just add a little spinach or kale, but they will change the flavor a little bit. Try different things out and perfect the recipe to create your own signature shake. I know this scrumptious, wholesome treat will continue being a part of my family’s St. Patrick’s Day traditions, though you can enjoy it year round.

Makes about four 1 cup sized servings. Enjoy this for St. Patrick’s Day this weekend!

~Kendra Thornton is a Travel Expert who has been globetrotting since she was a baby. Her travels have introduced her to diverse cultures and foods. Also a mother of three, she has mixed her excitement for travel by bringing the taste of authentic cuisine to her own home with some of her own unique recipes. She is often featured as an expert in family, luxury and adventure travel for FOX News, ABC, CBS, NBC, and CW networks. She has also appeared on The Nate Show, Fine Living Network and the Tyra Banks Show

One response to this post.

  1. […] Signature Shamrock Shake (thelittlegreenplaypen.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Share your thoughts...