Earth Day Celebration of Books & Giveaways!

earthday(2)

I started reading to my daughter when she was still in my belly. Now, at 6 years of age, she reads to me! We love to go to the library or book store and find stories centered on the holidays of the month. So, with Earth Day approaching, I am excited to be a part of the Earth Day Celebration Book Tour hosted by Candace’s Book Blog and CBB Book Promotions.

Through the Book Tour, I was given the opportunity to read and review two children’s books written by Stephanie Lisa Tara. Her books teach and inspire children to take care of Earth and the environment. I have included notes from the author on each book, along with my reviews from Amazon.com, and the Author’s Bio. In honor of Earth Day, you will find links to Facebook pages that have been created to help support some important causes that help inspire the author’s stories. Lastly, you will also find links to TWO great giveaways that I am helping to host. So…read on! 😉

BOOK ONE

——Gwynne Fair and Shining Cover for CS-4 copy(1)

Note from the Author: 

A traditional Connecticut childhood might have had something to do with my love of fairytales, Hans Christian Anderson, Grimm, Edward LearLewis CarrollMother Goose and Aesop lined the shelves of my bright pink bedroom to be sure. Stories told aloud for thousands of years…goblins, elves, trolls, dwarves, giants, gnomes, fairies, pixies, brownies, wizards, witches and mermaids teaching children with their clever moral-of-the-story endings. Why, they were a parent’s best friend. Passed down from one generation to the next, and shared in front of the hearth at the end of a long day sounded like bliss to me. And so my own daughter and I carried on the tradition, sharing tales aloud, and even creating some new ones of our own. Of princesses, castles, forests, and magic flutes. So I really must credit a preschooler with the story of Gwynne, a brave girl who believes she can do anything she sets her heart to doing. In today’s neon digital world, it seems nice to reflect back to a simpler time, when imagination was all a child needed. Just one mom’s opinion, anyway.

With Love,
Stephanie Lisa Tara

My Review:

4.0 out of 5 stars Positive Message Told in Rhymes, April 2, 2013 by Daniella M Puccini

This review is from: Gwynne, Fair & Shining (Gold Ink Award Winner)

My 6 year old daughter really likes this book. She especially enjoys that it rhymes and contains fairy tale elements (knight, queen, princess, etc). The illustrations are great and it’s an easy read. I like that it contains a little bit of everything…fantasy, reality, humor, music, etc. I mostly appreciate the positive message it gives of believing in yourself. Recommend!

Continue reading on Amazon.com

BOOK TWO

Eliza's Forever Trees Cover

Note from the Author:

My eleven-year-old daughter and I often hike through the redwood forest located just outside our home here in Northern California. One of our favorite spots in the forest is within a magical natural phenomenon called a redwood fairy ring. A mother redwood reproduces by throwing off roots, sprouts, and burls from her body. Therefore, her children grow in a circle around her, and they are one with their mother, created from her very body. This ring of trees, called a fairy ring, is said to contain a very powerful energy and magic. I can certainly say that when my daughter Maddie and I sit inside a fairy ring, we can feel the magic. And, to be honest, it was not long before I started seeing Eliza peeking at me from behind the redwoods. I saw she was looking for something. Something very dear to her, I realized she was seeking her own mother. Then I immediately realized—Great Mother Redwood would be able to help. Of course. Yes, Great Mother Redwood—she, who started the redwood forest a million years ago. Her fairy ring of children-trees around her. Yes, help was close by. Indeed!

With Love,
Stephanie Lisa Tara
San Francisco

Facebook Page for Save the Redwood Forests

My Review:

5.0 out of 5 stars Finding love in nature, April 4, 2013 by Daniella M Puccini

This review is from: Eliza’s Forever Trees (Paperback)

I really enjoyed this book and it’s beautiful and powerful messages. The author does a great job of touching on the subjects of loss, death, nature, family, friendship and love. She really brings the animals in the story to life as characters that help Eliza, the main character, to grow and discover who she is and learn that love is forever. I think my 6 year old daughter is still too young for me to read this to her without some discussion, but I know she will definitely enjoy it when I do. It is an easy read with short chapters and once you start it, you want to finish it. I would definitely recommend this book to children ages 8 and up and to adults looking for a sweet and touching story.

Continue reading on Amazon.com

AUTHOR’S BIO

StephanieLisaTaraPhoto

I’ve always believed that magic hides in special places. As a child, people would often stare at my bright red hair, which was very, very bright indeed.
Unfortunately, I developed a bad habit of making up rhymes about all of them, and they soon became funny characters. I didn’t have much time to think about being different; fanciful lyricisms danced in my head, and no one was safe!
Since then, I’ve come to believe that storytelling has the power to inspire a deep love of language and learning. Words tripping off the tongue in somersaults that stick to your thoughts like taffy– those are the things that stay forever in the mind.
I’ve lived in many special places: on a farm, in a city skyscraper, on a tropical beach, and in the beautiful country of France. Now I live in northern California, between the redwood forests and the sea. Even though I’m an adult, I’m still as silly as ever.
Many nice words have been used to describe my books, such as fun, engaging, delightful, and whimsical. Some folks say that I deliver timeless messages of love for kids and parents to share again and again; this makes me very happy. I hope that you’ll enjoy my stories, too. Captivating children with language is something that I believe in, and I strive to live my life with this always.
–Stephanie Lisa Tara
www.StephanieLisaTara.com

STEPHANIE LISA TARA LOGO FINAL large

CAUSE PAGES
(each supports a book’s vision)

KindleFireGiveaway

GIVEAWAY ONE:

To enter to win the free KINDLE FIRE click the link below:

Rafflecopter giveaway

GIVEAWAY TWO:

To enter to win an Amazon Gift Card click the link below:

Rafflecopter giveaway

earthdaysmall(1)cbb(1)

2 responses to this post.

  1. Thank you so much for hosting a stop on this wonderful tour! Stephanie and I really appreciate you taking the time to read and review these books and we hope to spread the word through this tour so more people will know to pick them up! Teaching our kids about nature and conservation is very important and we appreciate everyone who feels the same!

    Reply

  2. What a wonderful collection! I read Gwynne Fair and Shining recently and it is very cute. These other books look delightful as well.

    Reply

Share your thoughts...

