Eco-friendly Body Care for People Who Care

logoNew

I am so excited to share with you all about the following line of products.  Not only did I discover a body wash that I absolutely love, but I found a company that I truly respect for its philosophies on health, safety practices and giving back to the community.  Beecology was started by a family of beekeepers who wanted to come up with a creative way to use all their excess beeswax.  They definitely did not want it to go waste and they wanted it to benefit the entire family.  After different attempts, they finally came up with a lip balm that family and friends approved of…Beecology was born.

Beecology is based in Ohio and now offers a variety of eco-friendly products that are handcrafted from natural and renewable ingredients for the body, both inside and out. Their products include raw natural honey, beeswax lip balm, sulfate and preservative-free shampoo, conditioner and body wash, paraben-free honey hand & body creams, essential oil moisturizing soaps, and more. Their products can be found in about 150 stores across the U.S., Canada and online.

wpid-IMG_20130220_205657.jpg

I was fortunate enough to try out their lavender set of body wash, hand & body cream and lip balm. Lavender has some great relaxing properties and I love the smell, but I have to say from past experience that these types of products have usually been on the heavily scented side, making it a bit unappealing. This was not the case with the Beecology products. The Original Honey Hand & Body Cream is lightly scented, thin and absorbs quickly into the skin. The Lemon & Lavender Beeswax Lip Balm is also lightly scented (more lemon than lavender), very smooth and has helped protect and soothe my lips (and my daughter’s) during this past cold winter month. My favorite though, by far, has been the Lavender with Bergamot Body Wash. It has a pleasant, light scent and when I put it on it feels like silk against my skin. I don’t doubt that this has something to do with it containing a blend of my 3 favorite oils: Coconut, Olive and Hemp. (Also contains Aloe and Honey.) I have sensitive skin and am prone to getting rashes from fragrances in bath products, but this stuff does no such thing. It has even made shaving so easy!  I truly love this stuff!

imageAside from high quality, ecologically friendly products, the greatest thing about Beecology is that they promote charitable giving. They will donate 10% of their net profits to the customer’s charity of choice! Each supported product contains a charity code on it. After purchasing, you simply visit the Beecology Charity website at www.sweetyear.org, enter the code on the product and designate which charity you would like your percentage to be donated to. What an amazing way to give back! In light of this generous gesture, I am not running a giveaway, but asking that you please consider trying out one of these great products, and give to charity at the same time! It’s a win-win for everyone!

To learn more about the company and their products visit: BEECOLOGY

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. How do their products differ from Burts?

    Reply

    • Hi Tammy! I actually used Burt’s Bees in the past because it’s easy to find at “regular” stores and not too expensive. Now I only buy it once in a while if I’m in a rush to find something somewhat safe and inexpensive. If you just compare the body wash…Beecology’s has 8 or 9 ingredients of basically water and essential oils. Burt’s Bee’s has something like 23 items on their list, and most of them considered “iffy” (and no honey or beeswax). Once Burt’s Bees got purchased by Clorox, I definitely noticed a change in their products and ingredients. I have been doing my best to support small U.S. businesses and I love that Beecology gives a portion to the charity you want. Thanks for bringing this up…I should’ve thought to include it in my post. 😉

      Reply

Share your thoughts...

