Holiday Cheese and Fruit Platter

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving. I was very fortunate not to have to do any cooking this holiday. I was able to sit and enjoy a delicious meal, wine and quality time with the family. It was very needed. I was also able to put a lot of thought and effort into the appetizer dish I was asked to bring.  O.k., so it didn’t take much thought, but I’m still proud of my effort. Anyone who knows me knows I simply can’t resist cheese and if I could, I’d live off of cheese, chocolate and wine forever. My family is also very big on cheese and wine so I figured a cheese tray would definitely do. I trotted off to Trader Joe’s to buy a couple of my favorites and find a few new ones to sample. Imagine the sweet surprise at finding the very same cheese I had encountered last year around the holidays…and have been searching for ever since!

Chocolate Cheddar Cheese…what more could one need? A glass of red wine to go with it, but of course. The cheese is a great treat by itself too. The Chocolate does not overpower the cheddar or vice versa, as one might think. It’s a great blend. Melt it on some crispy bacon and now we’re on a whole new level. 😉

Another favorite Trader Joe’s cheese right now, perhaps thee favorite, is the Creamy Toscano Cheese Dusted with Cinnamon that I discovered back in September. It is truly brilliant. The light traces of cinnamon blend with Cheddar and Parmesan flavors to create a delicious and unique combination that is addicting. (Well, at least I’m completely hooked.)

Shopping at Trader Joe’s is always full of great surprises and new finds. It always inspires me too. After finding pomegranate seeds and some new cheeses, I instantly envisioned my pretty party platter.  I included the name labels on the tray so that everyone knew what they were trying. It was a big hit. It’s an easy and fun appetizer that can be used for any event, big or small (girls’ night, wine tastings, etc.), or even just a quiet evening at home. I’ll be putting together a bigger and better one for Christmas!

Holiday Cheese & Fruit Platter

Other cheeses I included: Trader Joe’s Parmesan & Gouda – another favorite in our household; Trader Joe’s Toscano Cheese with Black Pepper- a very unique combination that took a little getting used to, but enjoyed; Trader Joe’s Asiago Cheese – loved it on crackers. Also included are Trader Joe’s Red Grapes, Blackberries, Blueberries, Pomegranate Seeds, and Cracker Assortment.

3 responses to this post.

  1. That looks so delicious! I also have a blog it is ourorganicstory.com I hope you can check it out:).
    Tori

    Reply

  2. Hello! I had a question for you about possibly collaborating on something and was hoping you could email me back to discuss? Thanks so much!

    – Carolyn
    carolynfallon3@gmail.com

    Reply

Share your thoughts...

