Rainy Day BPA-free Soup

 

Sunday is the one day a week I attempt to be lazy. Usually, I fail miserably. Today, however, all-day rain along with colder weather has me curled up on the couch, watching football and daydreaming my Sunday away. The realization that Fall is in full effect, the holiday season is near, and Winter is far too close, has brought me a sense of serenity today. (The calm before the storm perhaps?) Ok, maybe I’m just lazy because one glance at my calendar shows I may not get another chance to just sit here till 2013!

 

This weather also has me craving a bowl of soup.  Since I’m in no particular mood to slave away at the kitchen, I turn to my Organic Butternut Squash Soup from Trader Joe’s. A few minutes on the stove-top and I’m back on my couch enjoying a delicious, warm and comforting bowl. This Trader Joe’s soup contains only real organic ingredients: butternut squash, potatoes, onions, honey, carrots, garlic, and other spices, etc.  It is low in sodium and calories, gluten-free and GMO-free! You can garnish with some cinnamon or nutmeg, but my daughter and I like to sprinkle some shredded cheese on top.  It makes a great, light lunch, appetizer or snack. Other varieties available include: Sweet Potato Bisque, Pumpkin, Organic Creamy Tomato and Organic Tomato & Roasted Red Pepper….all delicious!

Besides being healthy, convenient, yummy and perfect for a chilly Autumn afternoon, these Trader Joe’s soups come in a Tetra-Pak. You can find several different products at your local grocery store that are packaged with it. This type of packaging does not contain BPA. It is also recyclable.  You really won’t find many canned soups or foods in my pantry. Sadly, most of them (even Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods Market) contain this hormone disrupting chemical in their packaging, which has been linked to cancer and other complications. You may have heard that Campbell’s announced earlier this year that they would be phasing out the use of BPA in their can lining. (Though some controversy exists in this claim.) While I don’t completely trust the ingredients in their actual soup, it is definitely a step in the right direction from such a big, well-known company. Hopefully others will follow their example.

For a list of brands/companies that are BPA-free: CLICK HERE

To read more about Tetra Pak: CLICK HERE

Related articles

4 responses to this post.

  1. I overdid it on that TJ variety when it first came out.

    Reply

  2. I love trader joe soup, we do not have one here in Denver right now. 2 are due to open next year and I can’t wait. I am your newest follower looks like our opinions are up the same alley 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by The Little Green Playpen on October 12, 2012 at 10:27 am

      Oh thank god you got them coming! 😉 Thanks for stopping by and for the follow. I’m off to check out your blog. I have a very good friend in Denver btw…I will have to visit soon.

      Reply

Share your thoughts...

