Organic Chicken is too expensive…

Not!  One of the excuses I hear and hate the most is that organic foods and products are too expensive.  If that were the case then I’d be broke. One of the reasons I started this blog is to help people see that going green and organic cannot only be affordable, but it’s also becoming a lot more accessible. With the information we have available to us nowadays regarding what can be found in our foods and products, I personally feel it is a crime not to try to make a few changes to benefit your family’s health.

I bought this family package of Organic Chicken at Trader Joe’s last week. Price tag: $7.64 ($2.79 a pound).  I regularly buy their package of Organic drumsticks at $1.99 a lb. How is that more expensive than the leading chicken brand at the grocery store? If what you want to purchase is chicken pumped with antibiotics, genetically modified organisms, preservatives, fillers…even arsenic (which not too long the FDA admitted to) I’m not going to stop you, but I do hope that I make you think twice about it.  I can’t even eat chicken anymore unless I purchased it myself and made it at home…and you better believe I’m not going to feed my family anything I feel might be a risk to their health. The correlation between the rise in number of cancer cases and the junk that’s being linked to cancer and processed into our foods is no coincidence to me.

And for those of you who might argue that you can get a bucket of fried chicken at KFC for less than 8 bucks, I got this to say:

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by organic4greenlivings on May 24, 2012 at 8:35 am

    Love your sign-it says volume, but you know some people wouldn’t believe it until they are hit with cancer.

    Reply

  2. and sadly some STILL wouldn’t. Thanks for your comment.

    Reply

  3. Perhaps organic is cheaper where it is popular? Becuase chicken per pound where I live is at least around $5, usually a little more. I would love it if it were cheaper. Coming to yo from the June Blog Hop, at Bloggy Moms.

    Reply

    • Good point…very well could be. I think Organic is currently so in demand that I’m guessing in your area the price will soon go down. Trader Joes is also a very reasonably priced store in itself. Thanks for stopping by. I’ll make sure to check your blog out!

      Reply

Share your thoughts...

