Dr. Praeger’s Sensible Foods Recommendation

One of the greatest obstacles parents seem to face is making sure their kids are getting their veggies. Even more challenging is when you’re eating out or on the go. I remember carrying a jar of Earth’s Best Baby food in my bag until my daughter was 3 years old.  Her favorite was the Turkey Veggie Dinner variety. When she first began eating solids, she loved broccoli, peas, carrots, you name it. As she got older and discovered new flavors, it became more difficult to get her to eat most vegetables.  Somewhere around the age of 3, she began to refuse to eat any greens.  I would try anything and everything: table games, bribes, rewards, punishments, even hiding veggies in her food. She was especially adamant about not eating anything that remotely tasted like broccoli or spinach. For almost an entire year, I tried several different recipes and veggie products on the market without success. Then, while shopping at Whole Foods Market one day, one of the employees recommended Dr. Praeger’s Sensible Foods Kid’s line. Before I had my daughter I was a vegetarian and a fan of Dr. Praeger’s Veggie Burgers, so I was encouraged.  I purchased a box of their All Natural Spinach Littles and hoped for the best. Two years later, my daughter still loves her “green nuggets”.

Dr. Praeger’s Littles come in different fun shapes….dinosaurs, stars, teddy bears…which my daughter loves, as much as she loves the taste.  They come in different varieties too: veggie, spinach, broccoli, sweet potato. Her favorites are the spinach and broccoli, though they taste more like potato so she usually has them with a little ketchup. I love the Dr. Praeger’s line because, as stated on the package, it’s “where you recognize all the ingredients”…a short, simple list that includes spinach, potatoes, onions, egg whites, etc. They do not contain any cholesterol, saturated or trans-fat and are gluten free, low in sodium, Kosher, and best of all…GMO FREE! On busy days or if my cooking strikes out with my daughter, eight minutes on each side in the toaster oven and the Spinach Littles give me the satisfaction of knowing she had some greens. If you are struggling with feeding your family more vegetables, or even just looking for a healthy snack, for an average price of $4, Dr. Praeger’s line can help. They taste great, are good for you and also very convenient. Aside from the kid’s line, you can also find from appetizers to fish products in the frozen food section of Whole Foods Market and other supermarkets.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by marvin slutzky on March 12, 2014 at 5:37 pm

    what are the potassium and phosphorus and sodium levels per serving ???

    Reply

    • I’m uncertain of the potassium and phosphorus levels as they are not listed on the package. I’m sure if you wrote to the company you could easily get that information. Sodium is 100 mg per serving.

      Reply

Share your thoughts...

