Organic Laundry Detergent

When it comes to laundry I’m not much of a picky person.  For some years now my only concern has been that I find green, chemical and dye-free detergents that won’t irritate my daugter’s skin or harm the Earth.  Conventional brands tend to contain several toxic, harmful ingredients that have been linked to cancer and which are NOT required to be disclosed on the label. On top of this, you are made to believe that you also need specific soap for colors, another for whites, and that even the temperature of the water requires a certain detergent. We are also made to think that stains cannot be removed unless we buy a separate product.  As far as I’m concerned, a little soap and water suffices, though I do battle the occasional stain. This is exactly what happened just last week after being asked to sample Whole Foods Market’s very own Organic Laundry Detergent.  There’s never been a particular brand of detergent I stick to….until now!

A couple of weeks ago my daughter experienced her first bloody nose. Some of it spilled on her nightgown. I threw the soiled garment in the hamper and forgot about it until laundry day. As I poured the laundry detergent into the machine, it dawned on me that this would be a great way to truly test the product out. I was convinced the blood stain would still be there after the wash. I had not treated the area with anything at all and my experience in the past with some leading detergent brands assured me of it too.  The results really surprised me and actually got me excited about laundry for the first time.

Here is a picture of the stained area of my daughter’s nightgown after only 1 wash with Organic Laundry Detergent…

 The stain is to the left of the heart and before the wash was about the color of it. As you can see, it is now very faint and almost completely gone. Needless to say, I have finally been convinced by a brand. Since then I have done a couple more loads of laundry and continue to feel confident that my clothes have been cleaned well. More importantly, however,  it makes me feel even better to know that I am not harming the environment or posing any health hazards to my family.  This Organic Detergent rates GREEN (the highest rating) on Whole Food’s very own Eco-Scale, making it the safest of its kind.  No junk…just natural, organic ingredients. I’m using the fragrance-free variety now, which was hubby’s only complaint. (He’s the picky one in the family about laundry.) I will be trying out the Lavender scented one next, but as I proved to him, a couple of (eco-friendly and/or homemade) scented dryer sheets and your laundry smells great. Without it, the detergent just simply leaves it smelling clean.

If you’re in search of a green, non-toxic, safe and effective laundry detergent (which hopefully you are!) I highly recommend you give Whole Food’s Organic Laundry Detergent a try.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for the recommendation…I am always looking for cleaning products that are safe AND effective…I will be picking this up on my next run to Whole Foods :)

    Reply

  2. [...] Organic Laundry Detergent (thelittlegreenplaypen.wordpress.com) [...]

    Reply

  3. [...] organic.  She posts on everything from organic beauty products, to green kitchen utensils, to organic cleaning products.  A mother of a 5-year-old little girl, Dee also informs parents about the best organic products [...]

    Reply

  4. Obviously! Organic is the best and the only solution to have more hygienic and healthy life. From food, beauty, medicine to laundry detergents, its always good if we go for organic products.

    Reply

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,634 other followers

