The Silver Diner presents Farm-To-Table

After getting recommendations from several friends, my chiropractor, even my masseuse, I finally made the time to visit the Cherry Hill, NJ Mall. While the shopping was great, it was definitely secondary to the food. I was excited to find a Cali style fro-yo spot in the middle of the mall, tempted to hit up Bobby Flay’s Burgers, pleased to see a CPK, but in the end my real reason for venturing over the bridge was to experience the Silver Diner. Located across the street from the mall, the outside’s red white and blue and silver structure with the neon signs made me think of an old school all-American diner meets The Jetson’s.  Inside, “The Next Generation Diner” theme continued to stand out. The mini table-top (working!) jukeboxes were reminiscent of the “Happy Days,” but the menu definitely screamed out 2012.

This is a diner like no other I have experienced.  As soon as I walked in I noticed the FARM TO TABLE sign and couldn’t wait to see what the menu had in store.  I quickly learned that the co-owner, Ype Von Hengst, is also the executive chef. Chef Ype prides himself in feeding his customers the freshest and best quality foods by supporting local farms and using locally sourced products and ingredients. Instant fan. One look at the menu and I knew I’d be coming back again.  It includes everything from healthy. low-cal dishes and gluten-free options to local beers and wines, to all natural (healthier) hand-dipped shakes and malts even! I definitely plan on going back for breakfast soon…nitrate-free bacon and pancakes made from natural, unbleached flour. Perfect.  There is just far too much deliciousness to choose from and that’s just the Spring/Summer menu. Since Silver Diner uses locally sourced foods, their menu goes through seasonal changes. Can’t wait to check out Fall/Winter.

Sunday is burger night for our family, so this time around we had to sample some Silver Diner burgers.  With local, all-natural, hormone and antibiotic free beef, bison, turkey, chicken and veggie on the menu, you can’t go wrong.  Hubbs was as excited for the build-your-own burger option as he was for his Bison burger. (If burger construction were an art, he’d definitely be a famous artist.)  I eagerly ordered their new Pesto Burger…Creekstone Farms Premium Black Angus Beef with local goat cheese, basil pine nut pesto and sweet potato fries on the side:

Let me proudly say I ate all of it! Need I say more? Wait, yeah I do…at the table I found this to go with my fries:

One of the things that impressed me most about the Silver Diner…the kid’s menu. My Little ordered a Bison Burger, which actually came in a kid-friendly size, with a side of mashed potatoes.  She ate all of it. Their kid’s menu is by far much more varied than most I’ve come across with healthier options and reasonable portions.

 

Besides the menu, we were also very happy with our overall experience. The service was great. Everyone was professional, friendly and attentive. The prices on the menu were extremely reasonable, especially considering the high quality food that you are getting. The average price of a dish was no more than a typical diner.  Lastly, the restaurant was super clean, inside and out.  I have to mention that as we were leaving the restaurant, a line of classic cars was pulling in.  A section of the parking lot had been taped off and several (older) men were sitting on lawn chairs next to their cars.  It made me think of an old favorite Los Angeles hang-out and landmark…the Bob’s Big Boy diner.  I mean really, what kind of all-american diner experience would it be without a car show?

For more information, to see the current menu, and/or get directions, visit the Silver Diner’s website. (Several locations in Virginia and Maryland too!)


Silver Diner on Urbanspoon

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,663 other followers

